RSS

How did I forget to title this entry?

14 Mar

In conversation tonight, I noted that with my Regency Sherlock story over 60,000 words now, it is officially the longest thing I’ve ever written (and not being near finished yet, it might be utterly epic, ugh).  I’ve got a few NaNoWriMo novels under my belt, yes, but once I hit the 50K goal, I generally died for a good month afterwards and didn’t add more words.  Or, more frequently, I had to force out words at the end until I finally hit 50K because the story would end early.

But on Regency Sherlock, I’m still trotting merrily along.  65K if you count the notes and extra bits and pieces I may have used, may never use, or hope to use in the coming chapters.  I had a bit of a rough Feb-Mar due to hitting a particular chapter and, being so thrilled with finally finished that chapter, lost all momentum, and then this month having such a horrible toothache that I didn’t update for 9 days because I couldn’t think straight and there wasn’t enough ibuprofen in the world.  I finished two chapters Sunday-Monday this week and am hopefully back on track.

I have a tricky chapter that I’m working on now.  I don’t want to spoil anything by saying what happens in it, but I just hope I manage to make what I’m writing clear to everyone.  It’s hard to tell as a writer sometimes because you know everything in your head, and can’t always realize upon a re-read that you missed explaining something properly.  But I’m pleased with the idea, and have some vague concepts of what will happen afterwards.  Have to bring back some of the plot soon!  It’s definitely a challenge to keep a proper mix of plot/mystery and home/relationship scenes.

Before my toothache, I did also have some ideas for a sequel/second chapter to my story called Wanderer.  I’ve been doing my normal with it, which is writing bits and pieces until I have enough to work them into one whole story/chapter.  Then I mold them and rewrite them and move them around until they make sense.  Still in the early stages of that.  Wanderer itself, though, I think I wrote mostly in one long chunk.  I do adore it, and I’m sad that there really aren’t other “Sigerson” tags!  Do you really need an excuse to write Gingerbatch slash? 🙂  I do hope that my following chapter works itself out, though, because the idea is so lovely in my head.

Perhaps I also need to start listing all the ideas that pop into my head in hopes that someone else will write them so that I don’t have to! 🙂  In the Regency vein, I picture John boxing at Gentleman Jackson’s saloon… and of course Sherlock is a boxer so he would have seen him there… and then smut.  🙂  I also think that could lead into the Gambling John idea I have.  In the Conan Doyle stories, John occasionally lost too much at the tables, and I thought the idea of that in Regency England’s gambling hells was just bright and shiny.  Oh, John, you’re in debt to the Holmes brothers.  What shall you do?  🙂

I’m a bad, bad girl.  I’m a fangirl.  There should be a support group for that.  Oh, wait, there is!  Damn enablers, though.

What I really need to do is work on something salable.  I haven’t done so in months, for no other reason than I’m leaning on Sherlock to keep from spiraling into depression.  Disappointed in myself, worried.  Sherlock shuts that off just for a little while, but it doesn’t do anything to solve the problem.  I don’t know how to solve the problem.

But I don’t want to think about that (of course I don’t!).  Just looking forward to a Friday off, and I can do laundry and write and lay around the house in sweats, and torture poor John the Huntsman some more (in my Snow White story I have not posted here, only on AO3).  And of course, move along my Regency Sherlock story.

And here finished the first post in a while that doesn’t have Regency Sherlock chapters within!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2013 in Writings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
